Jagdamba Jeetpursimara Gold Cup begins, Sudurpaschim’s easy victory over Friends Club



March 27, 2022 1:47 pm

Simara: Sudurpaschim 11 Dhangadhi has started the 12th edition of Jagdamba Jeetpursimara Gold Cup with a comfortable victory over Friends Club of A Division. In the inaugural match played at Simara Stadium on Thursday, Sudurpaschim 11 easily defeated Friends 3-1. Sudurpaschim 11 has entered the last eight of the competition, beating Friends Club in the opening game.

Dhanraj Thapa, Dipankraj Singh and Faguram Tharu have scored one goal each for Sudurpaschim in a wide victory over Friends. Prem Bahadur Bhandari scored a consolation goal for Friends. Sudurpaschim of Mofasal took the lead in the 22nd minute of the match. Taking advantage of the weak defense of Friends, Dhanraj Thapa’s strike in the sudurpaschim turned into a goal. Excited by Thapa’s goal, Sudurpaschim did not allow some of the opportunities created by Friends to succeed.

Sudurpaschim doubled their lead early in the second half against Friends who failed to impress. Defender Dipank Raj Singh scored in the 54th minute of the match. While trying to control his weak attack easily, Friends goalkeeper Abhishek Baral was hit in the hand and the ball kissed the net. Thapa’s shot bounced off Baral’s hand to make it 2-0.

The Finishing side of the Friends Club, which could not create much opportunity against the Sudurpaschim, looked weak. Friends reduced the lead in the 82nd minute of the match. Friends’ Prem Bahadur Bhandari scored an excellent goal and tried to get the team back in the game. His blow from outside the box directly kissed the net.

The happiness of Bhandari’s goal did not last long. Sudurpaschim made it 3-1 without a single goal scored by Friends. Faguram Tharu of sudurpaschim scored the third goal for the team in the 83 rd minute of the match. Dipank Raj Singh of sudurpaschim was declared Man of the Match. He received five thousand rupees in cash and a trophy.

The match will be played between BFC Chitwan and Bagmati Youth Club Sarlahi on Friday. Earlier, the competition was inaugurated by Madhes Pradesh Chief Minister Lal Babu Raut Gaddi. The winner of the competition will get Rs. 10 Lakhs and the runner-up will get Rs.5 Lakhs.

There are 10 teams including five from A division participating in the competition. Former winners Sankata Club, NRT Club, Himalayan Sherpa, APF FC, BFC Chitwan, Bijay Youth Hetauda, ​​Bagmati Youth Club and organizer Nawa Janajagriti Youth Club are participating in the competition including Friends Club and Sudurpaschim.

The best player of the competition will get a motorcycle or scooter, said Ram Chandra Lama, president of Nawa Janjagriti Youth Club. The goalkeeper, defense, midfield, forward, top scorer and coach will each receive 20,000 cash for the departmental award for the best performance during the competition period. Emerging local players of the tournament will be rewarded with Rs. 15,000 , said Lama.

The estimated cost of the competition is around Rs.83 Lakhs. Jagdamba Steels, based in Simara, has been the main sponsor of the competition since this year. The competition has been co-sponsored by Saurya Cement, Riddhi Siddhi Cement, Surya Nepal, Hulas Steels, Cal Group and Amrit Ghyu.