The first title of the season to NRT, APF stunned



April 3, 2022 10:35 am

Simara: New Road Team (NRT) has lifted the title of Jagdamba 12th Jeetpursimara Gold Cup. NRT clinched the title by defeating departmental team APF by a wide margin of 5-0 in a match played at Simara Stadium on Saturday.

Mesuke Olomai and Stephen Samir scored two goals each while Deepesh Ghale scored one goal to give NRT the title. This is the first title of the season for NRT. Along with this title, NRT has also managed to position itself in the list of Jeetpursimara Gold Cup winners.

NRT opened the scoring during the injury time of the competitive first half and added four more goals in the second half. Mesuke scored in the added two minutes of injury time in the first half to give NRT the lead. Mesuke scored on a free kick after Deepesh Dhimal pushed Bishal Ghalan.

Mesuke’s shot from outside the box directly kissed the net. APF goalkeeper Raju Nagarkoti failed to stop his attack. NRT started the second half with a one-goal lead and added a second in the 60th minute. Deepesh Ghale scored the second goal for the team using the cross ball of Mesuke.

Reaching the final for the second time, APF was limited to runners-up but played an aggressive game from the beginning but failed to finish. After failing in APF finishing, NRT is dominating the game. NRT took the lead with two goals in the game and scored the third goal in the 77th minute. NRT’s Stephen Sameer scored to make it 3-0.

The match between the two teams of A Division was expected to be competitive in the stadium which was attended by about 10,000 spectators. But NRT was consistently scoring goals to get the result in their favor. APF supporters were disappointed when NRT added the fourth goal in the 81st minute of the match. Mesuke scored the team’s fourth and individual fifth goal in the competition.

NRT added the fifth goal in the 89th minute of the match. Stephen Samir scored the fifth goal for NRT. With Samir’s goal, APF was forced to suffer a humiliating defeat in the last match.

With the victory against APF, NRT has got Rs.10 Lakhs including trophy. Runner-up APF has received Rs.5 Lakhs. Mesuke of NRT has been declared the best player of the tournament. He has received a Benelli motorcycle.

Mesuke of NRT was declared the best player of the tournament. He has received a Thane Benelli motorcycle. NRT also dominated the departmental awards of the competition. The best goalkeeper of the tournament was Pradip Bhandari of NRT, the best midfielder was Ashok Thapa of NRT, the best forward was Stephen Samir of NRT and the best coach was Raju Kaji Shakya of NRT.

APF’s Rajan Gurung was adjudged the best defender of the tournament while Stephen Samir, who scored six goals during the tournament, was adjudged the top scorer. Sagar Chaulagai of Nawa Janajagriti Youth Club was declared the emerging player organizer of the competition. Bijay Youth Club Hatauda has won the fair play title of the competition.

Prizes were distributed to the winners and runners-up by Prem Ale, Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Krishna Dutta Bhatt, Corporate Vice President of Jagdamba Steels, Shobhakar Parajuli, Member of Constituent Assembly, Dinesh Rai, Leader of Unified Socialists, Krishna Bahadur Katuwal, Chief District Officer of Bara and Ram Chandra Lama, President of Nawa Janajagruti Youth Club.

Five teams from A Division and five teams from Mofasal participated in the competition which started on Chaitra 10 with the main support of Jeetpursimara Sub-metropolis and the main sponsorship of Jagdamba Steels.