Police lifted the Jeetpursimara Gold Cup title



April 17, 2024 12:38 pm

Simara: Nepal Police Club won the Jagdamba 14th  Jeetpursimara Gold Cup by defeating Machhindra Football Club in the tiebreaker. In the final match at Simara Stadium on Monday night, Police won the title by defeating Machhindra 4-3 in a tiebreaker.

It is the first time that the police have won the Jeetpursimara title. Police, who entered the finals for the second time after eight years, lifted the title and registered their name as the 11th team to win the title of Jeetpursimara Gold Cup.

The game was pushed to extra time after both teams played a goalless draw at the scheduled time. After extra time was scoreless, the result was decided by tie breaker.

In the tiebreaker, Police goalkeeper Amit Tamata made two excellent saves and won the title for the team. He blocked the blows of Machchindra’s Saurav Limbu and Chandan Das. Only Bishal Tamang and Diwakar Chaudhary scored for Machhindra. On the other hand, police captain Ramchandra Baje, Pujan Rai, Sujan Magar and Ashish Rai scored goals.

After winning the title, the police received 10 lakh rupees with the trophy, while the runner-up Machhindra received 5 lakh rupees. Similarly, Bimal Gharti Magar of Machhindra was declared the best player of the tournament. He has received a TVS scooter.

Sanjit Shrestha of Police was declared the best goalkeeper for the category award. He got 25,000. Ujjwal Rai of Police and Faguram Chaudhary of Birgunj United were declared the top scorer awards. They received 12,500 each.

Prajwal Thapamgar of Nawa Janajagriti Yuwa Club has been declared the emerging player of the tournament. He got 15,000. The player of the match award was given to Police goalkeeper Amit Tamata. He got 10,000.

Winners, runners-up and best sportspersons were awarded by former Minister and Member of Parliament of Bara Region No. 4 Krishna Kumar Shrestha, Nepali film industry legend Rajesh Hamal, Nepali Army Assistant Rathi Rajendramani Giri, Nepal Police Deputy Inspector General Yagya Binod Pokharel, Jeetpursimara Sub-Metropolitan City Deputy Chief Bhola Prashad Adhikari, Chief sponsor Jagdamba Steels Corporate Vice President Krishnadatta Bhatt, Nepovit Tiles Director Vibha Jha, Shubharamba College Principal Shambhu Mandal and others.